Champion of Agriculture

The American Agri-Women (AAW) “Champion of Agriculture” award was initiated in 2010 to recognize members of Congress who have displayed exemplary courage in presenting and supporting legislation that promotes American agriculture, rural American lifestyles and the United States Constitution.  This is a bi-partisan award with efforts made to include both houses and both parties, if possible. Since 2010, there have been two awards given each year: one to a House member and one to a Senate member – both Republicans and Democrats have received the award.

The Champion of Agriculture Awards are awarded during AAW Fly-In in Washington DC in June of each year.  To nominate a Senator or Representative for the award, please provide a letter of nomination stating the name of the member, their state, why the member is deserving of the award, stating explicit examples where possible. In addition to the letter, nominations may include up to three additional pages of supporting material. Submit nominations by April 1st of each year to

Download the Nomination Form.

Past Recipients:

2010    Senator James Inhofe, OK

Representative Colin Peterson, MN

2011    Senator Pat Roberts, KS

Representative, Dennis Cardoza, CA

2012    Senator Debbie Stabenow, MI

Representative Cynthia Lummis, WY

2013    Senator Susan Collins, ME

Senator John Thune, SD

2014    Senator Amy Klobuchar, MN

Representative Frank Lucas, OK

2015    Senator John Hoeven, ND

Representative Mike Conaway, TX

2016    Senator Heidi Heitkamp, ND

Representative Greg Walden, OR

2017    Senator Joni Ernst, IA

Representative Rodney Davis, IL

2018    Representative James Comer, KY

Representative Steve Pearce, NM

2019    Representative David Rouzer. NC

Representative Cheri Bustos, IL

Chief Champion of Agriculture – President Donald J. Trump

2020 Senator Charles Grassley, Iowa

Congressman Jodey C. Arrington, Texas

We are a force for truth, a reasoned, non-partisan voice for the agricultural community to the public.